• Sega Mega Drive/Genesis: Collected Works is the ultimate retrospective of the console that changed video gaming forever.

    Shipping 24 October 2014.

    Pre-order your copy now for the pre-launch price of £30 (RRP £35).

  • A treasury of development artwork, hardware photography, interviews and never-before-seen design documents.

  • A detailed hardware showcase will unveil the original hand-drawn plans for the Mega Drive/Genesis itself, along with stunning alternative concepts for controllers, the Super 32X/32X and the Mega-CD/Sega CD.

  • The book will also feature interviews with 28 original Sega developers and team members, many speaking about their work for the very first time.

Prev Next


*** The book is available to pre-order now, at an exclusive pre-launch price of £30 (RRP £35) ***

Sega Mega Drive/Genesis: Collected Works will be the definitive volume on the landmark console. The book is produced in collaboration with Sega and celebrates the 25th anniversary of the console’s release. It is an unparalleled treasury of development sketches, design documents, hardware concepts and game artwork, that covers blockbuster titles such as Bare Knuckle/Streets of Rage, Sonic the Hedgehog, Phantasy Star II and ToeJam & Earl as well as cult gems including Vectorman, Landstalker and Comix Zone.

The book opens with a stirring, personal foreword by industry legend David Perry, followed by a spirited history of the console and its legacy by Keith Stuart (Guardian Games Editor), which includes first-hand accounts from key figures inside and outside of Sega. Forming a coda to the book is a comprehensive oral history comprised of 28 exclusive interviews with original Sega team members – many of whom have never been interviewed before.

Sega Mega Drive/Genesis: Collected Works offers unrivalled insight into the console that changed the landscape of gaming forever.

The project was made possible through the support of fans worldwide via a crowdfunding campaign on Kickstarter. The book will publish in October 2014, and is now available to pre-order here.


  • Naoto Ohshima
  • Yu Suzuki
  • Yuji Naka
  • Masami Ishikawa
  • Mitsushige Shiraiwa
  • Yuzo Koshiro
  • Kan Naito
  • Kazuyuki Hoshino
  • Keisuke Tsukahara
  • Kotaro Hayashida
  • Manabu Kusunoki
  • Naohiro Warama
  • Noriyoshi Ohba
  • Ryuichi Nishizawa
  • Koji Tsuchida
  • Makoto Uchida
  • Toru Yoshida
  • Greg Johnson
  • Rich Karpp
  • Peter Morawiec
  • Tom Kalinske
  • Hayao Nakayama
  • Michael Katz
  • Al Nilsen
  • Trip Hawkins


Pricing & Specification

Pre-Order Price: £30 (RRP £35)

UK p&p: Free
Worldwide p&p: £7

Size: 216mm x 267mm
Binding: Hardback
Pages: 352pp
Specials: 8 x Gatefold Pages

Ships: October 24 2014